AOASM President's Message

AOASM President's Message - May


Dear Members,

I want to introduce myself as the new President of the AOASM. After returning earlier this week from our annual conference held at the beautiful Broadmoor hotel and resort in Colorado Springs, I am very excited about the direction the AOASM is moving.

At our Board of Directors meeting we announced the election of two new board members, Dr. Rebeccah Rodriguez and Dr. Blake Boggess and the re-election of Dr. John Dougherty.  I am certain that these candidates will serve the academy well and I thank you all for voting. We also announced the appointment of Dr. Jeff Bytomski to the Executive Committee where he will serve as the Secretary-Treasurer for the next year. The installation of our new officers and board members was conducted by one of our past presidents, Dr. Alan Stockard. Congratulations to them all!

During our awards luncheon, our outgoing President, Dr. Steve Karageanes, gave a presentation of the programs that the AOASM is working with including; the “be a Star” anti-bullying program, the Sarah Jane Brain Project, Youth Sport Safety Alliance, ACSM Team Physician Consensus Statements, and the Athletes and the Arts. We also have representatives at the AOA House of Delegates, the Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists, the Bureau of Osteopathic Specialty Societies and we were very well represented at the Joint Commission on Sports Medicine & Science.  One of the exciting projects that came out of the Joint Commission was the possibility of working closely with Special Olympics and developing training programs for our members on how to conduct proper preparticipation exams for these athletes.

We presented the AOASM Award of Fellow to both Dr. William Kuprevich Jr. and Dr. Becky Mueller. I applaud both of these fine physicians and champions of sports medicine on their success. The Award of Fellow is granted to AOASM members in recognition of the member’s experience, dedication, service and contribution of the highest order to the advancement of Sports Medicine. 

My personal congratulations and THANKS to our President Elect, Dr. Patrick Leary, who put together an educational program that was innovative and covered a variety of topics in both traditional and non-traditional sports medicine concepts.  Social highlights of the conference included Dr. Wayne English’s tribute to Russell Wright, D.O., who was the “father of Sports Medicine” at our annual luncheon bearing his name. Our “off-site” trip to the Olympic training center was both informative and insightful as Dr. Bill Moreau, Medical Director for the USOC, recognized the numerous contributions our members have made to the USOC and those who continue to be involved with various teams and governing boards.

I hope to serve the Academy well in the next year and will try to keep you all informed of what we are doing on both the Board of Directors and Executive Committee. I urge you all to let us know what you are doing in your practices and communities so that we can share your accomplishments with our colleagues.

Have a happy and healthy Spring!


 Angela Cavanna, DO, FAOASM